I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

“I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings” by Maya Angelou is her autobiography in which she relates the early years of her life and her transition from a child of a broken family and victim of racism to a survivor of child sexual abuse and rape, and a mother at the age of sixteen. The story is told through the perspective of Marguerite Johnson aka Maya Angelou, an African American girl who, as a result of her parent’s divorce was sent to Stamp, Arkansas along with her brother to live with her grandmother and uncle. The story is set during the 1930s, a time when Black Americans were not given their due rights, status, and respect and were treated as lesser beings by the whites. Moreover, they were persecuted and abused by the white supremacist group known as Ku Klux Klan for having a different skin color than theirs. The book illustrates Angelou’s struggle to accept herself, her identity as a black, and her fight for her rights as a colored American woman. This book also shows the nature of people in power and authority and how they enjoy abusing their power by oppressing the oppressed.

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

“The Great Gatsby” by F. Scott Fitzgerald revolves around the themes of loneliness, isolation, and the unattainable American dream of upward social mobility. The protagonist of the story is Jay Gatsby, a mysterious rich guy who threw big parties at his place. He is the one through which the writer shows the failure of the American dream. Set during the 1920s, a period also known as the Jazz age, characterized by the pomp and show by the rich and elite classes, “The Great Gatsby” indicates the American dream is nothing but a ruse, and no matter how hard a person tries to achieve it, it will remain unattainable to a person belonging lower-class. Society won’t accept him no matter what.

The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom

The book “The Five People you Meet” in Heaven by Mitch Albom follows the life of Eddie, a lonely old man in his early 80s who works as a maintenance guy in an amusement park known as Ruby Pier. The story starts with the day of Eddie’s death when he dies saving a little girl from a falling cart in the park and subsequently lands in heaven where he meets five people who had directly or indirectly played a role in his life and change its course. Each of these five people sort of cleanse Eddie’s soul by explaining what happened to him and why it happened.

National Readers Conference ’22

National Readers Conference is the annual event of Read Pakistan to promote reading as a national habit. Also, to promote quality literacy instruction, advocate life-long reading, clarify educational issues for decision makers; Guide youth about their role as a citizen as well as member of this society and above all as a human being; Envision a … [Read more…]

“To Kill a Mockingbird” – Harper Lee

The book “To Kill a Mockingbird” is a Pulitzer Prize-winning novel by Harper Lee. The story is set in a fictional southern town of Maycomb county during the 1930s, a period known for racial prejudice against Black Americans. The story is told in the first-person narration through an eight years old girl named Jeans Louise Finch Aka Scout who lives with her lawyer father named Atticus and brother Jem who is four years older than her. The book is divided into two parts. The first part revolves around Scout, Jem, and Dill’s (their friend) childhood and their desire to know about their mysterious neighbor Arthur Radley aka Boo Radley while the second part focuses more on these children’s awareness of the issues of racism, Tom Robinson’s (a Black American) trial, and how it affects Jem, Scout, and Dill.